EPS Hannes Alfvén Prize 2019

The EPS Hannes Alfvén Prize 2019 for outstanding contributions to plasma physics is jointly awarded to:

Professor Victor Malka, of the Laboratoire d’Optique Appliquée of the CNRS/ENSTA-ParisTech/Ecole Polytechnique, France,  and the Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel;


Professor Toshiki Tajima, of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of California, Irvine, U.S.A.

Professor Malka is recognised for His major contributions to the development of compact laser-plasma accelerators, and to their innovative applications to science and society, which span ultra-fast phenomena, accelerator physics, medicine, radiobiology, chemistry and material science.”

Professor Tajima is recognised for His seminal, broad, and novel contributions to plasma physics and plasma-based accelerator physics, including the concept of laser wakefield acceleration.

EPS Alven prize link